top of page
Writer's pictureArty Production

DEAD-Short Story

Sometimes this feelings that cause us to smile, also cause us pain...





I always knew my end will come, I mean we all will die one day, so I knew. I just never knew it would be by the hands of someone I loved.

Never knew there were so many ways to kill a man without actually killing them, till it happened to me. You hear these things sometimes, people soliloquizing about their pain, and you think could this be true? You wonder, 'why people like to dey cap like this?' 'Na movie this one dey narrate, this kind love no exist...for this country?'.

I used to be on that table. Not fully but, when you hear some stories, they make you wonder —'did Romeo and Juliet really kill themselves for love?' 'Are you sure that Mark Antony and Cleopatra were in love as legend has it?'

I always looked forward to something great, maybe close to prince charming sweeping me off my feet, being to my service only and for a while I thought I had that. When it all came crashing and I was left with questions upon questions, even back to the former me that wondered, 'why did Isidor and Ida choose themselves?'

All these questions and still no answer, asides it was love. The very thing that made me broke me. So, nursing a bleeding body would have been an easy task, but even with all the technology, nursing a bleeding heart was still quite difficult and sometimes almost impossible. I'm not a dead ghost speaking from the grave, no, but I'm dead irrespective. Not of the body but of the mind. That's where I stand, and even on my feet I feel dead.


emoshiokhe

Artys Publishing

Instagram @artyspublishing



58 views

Recent Posts

See All

My last farewell

Sometimes goodbyes are never easy, mostly because finding the words to say is as hard as leaving itself. MY LAST FAREWELL If digging up...

Comments


bottom of page