top of page
Writer's pictureArty Production

My last farewell

Sometimes goodbyes are never easy, mostly because finding the words to say is as hard as leaving itself.



MY LAST FAREWELL

If digging up your bones would give me closure, I would have torn your grave apart a million years ago, but there is still a part of me that wants to respect you. Even though you have gone on without me, I still want the best for you. I just want to say I love you… sorry, I can’t do this. I was supposed to come here and talk about how much you mean to me, and say sweet words like I miss you. Start with hello my endless love and end with I will always love you.

Instead, what I will give you is the blacklist, where I’ve written down 13 reasons why I hate you. But to save us time I will skip to the part where you gave me stitches after leaving my love behind. Is that what you were taught, to never say goodbye before you go?

I went stark crazy you know. Running around on my block, disturbing the neighbour hood trying to solve your murder mystery like I was Sherlock Holmes. People terming me the mentalist. Some are telling me I’m ungrateful, that I should be happy, given what you left behind for me. But I didn’t want an empire or a dynasty, what I wanted was legacies. Something we could point to in the future and say this is us, not you or me us! Yet you left me with this crazy love, while you are resting in your grave peacefully, aging like fine wine.

You say your love no dey die, say your feeling no dey lie. You tell me to always believe you, but everything you said were lies. You asked me “marry me?” and I said yes. You said be my number one and I agreed, but all that was a terrible action film, you were going to leave after the money heist and not leave me with one naira, you had it all planned out. Now I’m left alone, the hurt you caused suffocating me, and I’m trying to come up for air but e no easy. Even in death, you’ve turned my gentility to stupidity. I wish you could see, how cold and lost I am without you.

I was supposed to tell you goodbye today, instead I find myself still charmed by you. This is my last farewell, we are over, and if I have to travel 5 miles to get away from you, then I will. All I ask is that you take it easy on me.


Emoshiokhe


Hope you guys enjoyed this post, let me know what you think in the comment section. Don't forget to check out my book THE MYGRANTS on Amazon, link below:


Arty's Publishing

Instagram @artyspublishing @emoshiokhe


4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page