top of page
Writer's pictureArty Production

Movie Talk- The Resident




If we are talking about suspense and drama, let’s give it to The Resident. I mean, I know Grey’s Anatomy is the lead in both fields, 19 seasons in and they still break our hearts at the end of each season. But still, The Resident is still on the charts for that field (alongside other dramatic dramas out there), especially when it comes to medical drama’s, (there’s a reason why it has been running for 5 seasons).

The Resident is a medical drama centered around a 3rd year resident, Conrad Hawkins (Matt Czuchry), at a fictional hospital in Atlanta Georgia, called Chastain Memorial Park. It has been a roller coaster of emotions all through, from season 1 to season 5, (and we are all waiting for a season 6). Though along the line, say from season 4, there about, it started becoming more about “the gang”, than just Conrad alone. Him no longer playing “God” as he used too, and adopting some unorthodox method in medicine. And this is why we are grateful for season 5.

Season 5 took us back to the old Hawkins days. Guns and violence and medicine. Well not so much, but season 5 gave us that. We must have thought at one point, what would happen now that Nic is gone? Nic (Emily VanCamp) who is Conrad’s one and only true love, died in a car accident in season 4. This was written to end the character s she wanted to leave the show due to personal, motherly reasons. With her passing, a big question of what next, was left behind, but trust the writers and the series creators not to disappoint.

I’m sure one of the questions we had in mind was, who will be the next love interest for Conrad? I know that was my next question, and season 5 ended with possibilities for us. I love the way season 5 ended, there was finally a happy ending for Devon (Manish Dayal). After season-to-season heart break for our one and only Dr. Devon Prevesh, he finally got his happy ending as he reconciled with his love Leela (Anuja Joshi). I kept screaming, “get back together you two!”, “please just give this boy a happy ending”, cause he deserves it, and he finally got it.

Not only did Dr. Prevesh get his happy ending, Kit (Jane Leeves) and Bell (Bruce Greenwood), also got their happy ending (can’t wait to see their wedding). And God, was their proposal not the most romantic!. Later on, the scene moved to AJ (Malcom-Jamal Warner) and Leela’s identical twin sister Padma (Aneesha Joshi), who gave AJ the news that she was pregnant, but with twins! Oh, I can’t wait to see that one play out in season 6. And I spy with my little eye, a romance to kick off between AJ and Padma, they are already giving the vibes and I hope they get together. The whole family is set already.

And lastly, the star boy of the show, Hawkins! Concerning his love life, season 5 kind of leaves us in cliff hanger. When I saw the way Billie (Jessica Lucas) looked at him when he asked if Marion was okay, I knew she liked him, apparently, only Conrad does not know that. Then Cade (Kaley Ronayne) showed up and I was like, she is the one. But at the end of season 5, I find myself rooting for team Billad. Best friend to his late wife, the guilt an all, I mean… besides, who doesn’t like a good romance story. I love Billie and Conrad together, the idea is crazy, two of them are steel, which makes it all the crazier.

Who will be the next Nic to his Hawkins?? I guess we all have to wait till season 6 to find out.


Igwemoh Favour

Arty’s Publishing.


More movies to watch if you like The Resident:

14 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page